Berlin Bound (2012/2014)

An interactive Party Performance from, for and about the Berliners from all over the world

[visit blog]

What does it truly feel like to be home? What’s required for one to feel at home? Is it possible to preserve one’s identity or must one leave it behind? In Berlin, many people share the experience of leaving one’s own cultural system behind in a search for something new, ultimately to establish oneself as a member of a foreign culture and society. With Ana Mena from Spain, Sarah-Jane St. Clair from Australia and Chang Nai Wen from Taiwan, it’s safe to say that the leaders of Thin Skin Theater and Sisyphos, der Flugelefant (SdF) are part of this community that shares such an experience. Inspired by their own personal experiences, along with narratives from others, Berlin Bound emerged in 2012 under the guise of plane trip, which took place in one of Berlin’s popular clubs, Kater Holzig.

In December 2014, the public is welcome to embark on a journey home in two of Berlin’s beloved clubs: Brunnen70 in Wedding and Griessmuehle in Neukoelln. Where you usually have to choose between partying and going to the theater—here, it’s one and the same. All fellow passengers are invited to bring along a piece of home—something cherished or even hated—it can be anything. Remember the motto of our journey: “Arrival lies in your hands.”

World Premiere: 22.11.2012 @Kater Holzig
Remount Premiere A: 5.12.2014 @Griessmühle | Premiere B: 6.12.2014 @Brunnen70


Concept, Play Development and Direction Chang Nai Wen | Performance and Play Development Ana Mena, Sarah-Jane St. Claire | Play Development, Text Adaptation and Co-Direction Evan Tsitsias | Music and Video Composition ChicaFábrica | DJ Nico Nicson | Costume Christin Vahl | Dramaturgy and German coaching Michael Wäser | Graphics and Lighting Eva Gutierrez Alonso | Technical Support Michael Tibes | Production Management Theresa Pommerenke | Administration  ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro | PR Casey Tower | Video and Edit Nicole Mühlberg | Photography Susan Paufler | Assistance  Anthea Engelhardt


A Production from Thin Skin Theater and SdF

With the support from Schauspielfabrik (Berlin) and Berlin Bound Donors at the Crowdfunding Plattform Indiegogo (2012)

With friendly support from Theaterhaus Mitte (2014)
Remount production funded by

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

Berlin Bound (2012/2014)

Eine interaktive Party Performance von, für und über die Berliner aus aller Welt.

[zum Projektblog]

Wie fühlt man sich zuhause? Was ist dafür notwendig? Ist es einem gelungen, seine Identität zu bewahren oder hat man sie geopfert? Die Erfahrung, das alte Zuhause, das eigene kulturelle System zu verlassen und ein neues zu suchen und aufzubauen, teilen viele Menschen in Berlin. Dazu gehören auch die Köpfe vom Thin Skin Theater und Sisyphos, der Flugelefant (SdF): die Spanierin Ana Mena, die Australierin Sarah-Jane St. Clair und die Taiwanerin Chang Nai Wen. Aus ihren eigenen Erfahrungen sowie aus Erzählungen von Anderen entstand das Theaterstück „Berlin Bound“, das 2012 im Kleid einer Flugreise im Berliner Club Kater Holzig zur Welt kam.

Im Dezember 2014 kann das Publikum in der Griessmühle (Neukölln) und im Brunnen70 (Wedding) einsteigen und „nach Hause“ reisen. Während sonst entweder gefeiert oder ins Theater gegangen wird – hier ist es ein und dasselbe Alle Mitreisenden sind eingeladen, selbst ein Stück Zuhause – geliebt oder gehasst – mitzubringen. „Ankommen liegt in Ihren Händen“ heißt das Motto dieser Reise.

Weltpremiere: 22.11.2012 @Kater Holzig
Wiederaufnahme Premiere A: 5.12.2014 @Griessmühle | Premiere B: 6.12.2014 @Brunnen70


Konzept, Stückentwicklung und Regie Chang Nai Wen | Schauspiel und Stückentwicklung Ana Mena, Sarah-Jane St. Claire | Stückentwicklung, Textbearbeitung und Co-Regie Evan Tsitsias | Musik und Video Komposition Chica Fábrica | DJ Nico Nicson | Kostüme Christin Vahl | Dramaturgie und Sprachtraining Michael Wäser | Grafik und Licht Eva Gutierrez Alonso | Technikberatung Michael Tibes | Produktionsleitung Theresa Pommerenke | Administration ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro | PR Casey Tower | Video und Schnitt Nicole Mühlberg | Foto Susan Paufler | Hospitanz  Anthea Engelhardt


Eine Produktion von Thin Skin Theater und SdF

Mit Unterstützung von der Schauspielfabrik (Berlin) und Berlin Bound Spender der Crowdfunding Plattform Indiegogo (2012)

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Theaterhaus Mitte (2014)
Wiederaufnahme gefördert durch