We Are the Play (2014)

An interactive Performance examining the perspectives of immigrants and Germans of other descents from the Fall of the Berlin Wall until today

[visit blog]

„Wir sind das Volk!“ (“We are the people”) was the chant of the protestors on the streets of East Germany. But who was there when two German states became one? Ms. Müller and Mr. Meyer? What about Ms. Gül and Mr. Ho? And who counted as a part of “we”? A German-born Turkish child witnessing her parents suddenly losing their jobs? A Vietnamese contract worker keeping her baby without being deported?

“We are the Play” explores the long-overlooked personal stories of immigrants and Germans of various descents over the course of the Fall of the Berlin Wall. The audience will be both guided and set free to explore those stories on the site of Berlin Wall Memorial, where they will experience a playful and interactive journey of the same event, examining the same questions from different perspectives – a collision of celebration with the anxiety accompanying freedom.

Premiere on September 11, 2014 at the site of Berlin Wall Memorial


Featuring Jonathan Aikins, Kristin Becker, Sonja Chan, Dilan Gülmez, Para Kiala, Lara-Sophie Milagro, Larius Phoulivong

Concept, Research, Direction and Play Development Chang Nai Wen | Forum Theater Techniques, Text and Co-Direction Evan Tsitsias | Dramaturgical Support Marie Urban | Text Support Sophie Reyer | Costume and Props Design Christin Vahl | Sound and Video Michael Tibes | Lighting Eva Gutierrez Alonso | Production Management ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro | Production Assistance Theresa Pommerenke | Stagemanagement Nicole Mühlberg | Research and Initial Concept Support Michael Wäser | Internship and Translation Marie Winnie Wilka | Photography Susan Paufler


A Produktion by SdF in Coproduction with English Theatre Berlin |International Performing Arts Center

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

We Are the Play (2014)

Eine interaktive Performance um die Perspektive von einwanderern und Deutschen mit anderen Wurzeln vom Mauerfall bis heute

[zum Projektblog]

„Wir sind das Volk!“ skandierten die Protestierenden auf den Straßen der DDR. Aber wer war dabei, als aus den zwei deutschen Staaten wieder einer wurde? Frau Müller und Herr Meyer? Und Frau Gül und Herr Ho? Wer war Teil dieses „Wir“? Ein in Deutschland geborenes türkisches Kind, das erleben musste, wie seine Eltern plötzlich ihre Arbeit verloren? Eine vietnamesische Vertragsarbeiterin, die nun doch ihr Baby behalten durfte, ohne ausgewiesen zu werden?

„We Are the Play“ beleuchtet die bislang kaum beachteten persönlichen Geschichten von Einwanderern und Deutschen mit anderen Wurzeln im Zuge des Mauerfalls und lädt auf eine spielerische und interaktive Reise ein: Teils geführt, teils selbstständig erleben die Besucher auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer gegensätzliche Erfahrungen – zwischen Feierstimmung und Angst als Folge der Freiheit.

Premiere am 11. September 2014 | Weitere Termine: 12.-14., 18.-21. & 25.-28. September 2014, jeweils um 19 Uhr


Von und mit Jonathan Aikins, Kristin Becker, Sonja Chan, Dilan Gülmez, Para Kiala, Lara-Sophie Milagro, Larius Phoulivong

Konzept, Recherche, Regie und Stückentwicklung Chang Nai Wen | Forum Theater Technik, Text und Co-Regie Evan Tsitsias | Dramaturgische Mitarbeit Marie Urban | Text Mitarbeit Sophie Reyer | Ausstattung Christin Vahl | Sound und Video Michael Tibes | Licht Eva Gutierrez Alonso | Produktionsleitung ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro | Produktionsassistenz Theresa Pommerenke | Regieassistenz und Inspizienz Nicole Mühlberg | Recherche und Grundidee Mitarbeit Michael Wäser | Hospitanz und Übersetzung Marie Winnie Wilka | Fotografie Susan Paufler


Eine Produktion von SdF in Koproduktion mit dem English Theatre Berlin |International Performing Arts Center